180 Mentoring Verse- August 11, 2010

Posted: August 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

Philippians 2:4 Each of you should be concerned not only about your own interests, but about the interests of others as well.

Mentoring first takes unconditional love.  Love gives opportunity.  To truly mentor you have to sacrifice and commit to the long journey.  25 years ago I began a teaching and coaching career that opened doors for wonderful lasting relationships.  This summer I am working with one of my former 4th graders (1987).   He is 31 and I am older.  We both lived in Ohio then and now we both live in North Carolina.

I had Mark in class in 1987.   We first connected through our love of sports.  I did not have my own children yet so all of my students were considered family.  I would use recess as a motivational tool and go out with the students and play whatever game was in season.  It was usually me and the girls against the boys.  The girls won most of the time.  Mark went on to play high school football at a different school.  I got to go to a few basketball games he played in and his state championship football game.  We stayed in touch through his college years with letters and phone calls.  He played college football for 4 years and then he began his teaching and coaching career.

He now coaches my son in football at the school where we teach together.  The benefits of mentoring are priceless.

Leave a Reply

